Online Class for obtaining your Alcohol Permit for Washington State
Our online class is designed to take 3 hours. All of the lessons are intended to prepare you to serve alcohol responsibly and do well on the 40-question state standardized exam. After you pass it (two attempts are offered, and we have a 99% pass rate on the first attempt), you will be issued a Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST) Class 12 Mixologist or Class 13 Server Permit for serving in Washington State.
Click here to see a sample lesson. The course works on iPad/iPhone and other tablets/smartphones, in addition to Windows, Macintosh, and Linux!
If the lesson plays, you may stop it, because you have everything you need to complete the course. If so, you may proceed to the Enrollment Agreement.
If the lesson does not play, make sure you are using an up-to-date web browser, such as the latest version of Google Chrome.
To get started, click here to continue to the Enrollment Agreement.
Privacy and Record Keeping Policy
Your personal information will be kept secure through SSL encryption and a secure database with strong password protection. We will only use your personal information for state records and to mail you your permit. We will never share it with a third party.
Course objectives are to give students:
- A sense of personal responsibility for alcohol service
- An understanding of the costs and liabilities involved with alcohol service
- Basic knowledge of Washing State regulations
- Information on the character of alcohol and its effects on the body
- Techniques to avoid problem situations and intervention with problem guests
- Skills to maintain quality guest standards while serving alcohol responsibly
- A sense of confidence in the workplace
- A sense of camaraderie in the workplace
Purpose of and Background on Alcohol Server Training (MAST)
In the 1995 law that required alcohol server training for servers and bartenders, the Washington State Legislature wrote that, “…the education of alcohol servers on issues such as the physiological effects of alcohol on consumers, liability and legal implications of serving alcohol, driving while intoxicated, and methods of intervention with the problem customer are important in protecting the health and safety of the public. The legislature further finds that it is in the best interest of the citizens of the state of Washington to have an alcohol server education program.” This MAST course is provided by Alcohol Liability Educational Services, or ALES, a private provider certified by the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board.
Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST) Permits
Everyone who serves, mixes, sells, or supervises the service of alcohol for consumption at an on-premises retail licensed facility is required to obtain a server permit (Class 13) or a mixologist permit (Class 12) within 60 days of initial employment. You must be 18 years old or older to obtain a Class 13 permit and 21 years of age or older for your Class 12 permit.
Everyone conducting alcohol tasting and/or filling growlers at grocery stores is required to obtain a Class 12 permit. Employees must be able to present the permit at events, as a 60-day grace period is not given. We also strongly recommend that a server renew his or her permit 60 days prior to its expiration. Permits are valid for five years and they are not renewable. To obtain a new permit, you must complete another MAST course through us or another certified trainer or provider.
This online course has been certified by the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board. ALES has an obligation to issue MAST permits to students who have completed the course and exam and report that information to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board, all within 30 days of the course completion.
Requirement for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders in Washington State
Your permit and supporting identification must be available for inspection at all times when working. Permits are the property of the server and may be used at more than one liquor licensed establishment. We recommend that you provide your employer or employers with a copy of your permit and always keep the original for your own records. Keep it handy to provide to a liquor enforcement officer and/or law enforcement while you are working with the sale or service of alcohol. For a nominal fee, lost permits may be replaced by contacting ALES or by obtaining an Affidavit of Lost Permit from the Liquor and Cannabis Board. Those who have passed the state standardized exam and received their Class 13 permit may upgrade to a Class 12 permit upon turning 21. The expiration date will stay the same as that of the Class 13 permit: five years from the date of course completion.
See the Permits page of our website for more information on upgrading a Class 13 permit, or replacing a lost Class 12 or Class 13 permit.
Server and Mixologist Permits
A Class 13 permit, also known as a server permit, is required by anyone who: takes orders for alcoholic beverages, delivers such beverages to customers, and/or opens and pours beer or wine at a customer’s table. A Class 12 permit, also known as a mixologist permit, is required by those who: manage a premises licensed to sell alcoholic beverages, act as a bartender for selling or mixing alcoholic beverages, and/or draw beer or wine from a tap. If you are a Class 12 permit holder, you may act as both a mixologist and a server. However, the reverse is not true. There is an exception to this rule: If a mixologist is temporarily absent, a Class 13 permit holder who is 21 years of age or older may perform the functions of a Class 12 permit holder. This is only until such time as the mixologist can arrive to fulfill those duties, but in no event for more than 30 calendar days.
Server Permits: Servers permits are required by anyone who:
- Takes orders for alcoholic beverages
- Delivers such beverages to customers
- Opens and/or pours beer or wine at a customer’s table
Mixologist Permits: Mixologist permits are required by those who:
Exception: If you are a Class 12 permit holder, you may act as both a mixologist and a server. However, the reverse is not true. Class 13 permit holders over the age of 21, upon temporary absence of the mixologist, may perform the functions of a Class 12 permit holder until such time as the mixologist can arrive to fulfill those duties, but in no event for more than thirty work days.
Violations: Mixologists and Servers who drink or serve after close, are convicted of DUI or serve apparently intoxicated guests may be cited AND sanctioned AND have his or her permit suspended or revoked. As allowed by the Board, a monetary penalty may be imposed in lieu of a suspension.